help on applying for design master!

Hi

im a student from UK. I am finishing my degree in Engineering next year and thinking of doing a master in design in Europe.

as im coming from an engineering background, i dont have much experience in design. i have realized that often a portfolio is required for application which is something new to me. i have done some design work as part of my industrial engineering degree and will be involved in more projects strongly associated with industry during my next year of study.

im wondering if anyone could give me some advice on whether a design course is suitable for me and how likely are the chances to get in? what preparations you would recommend in order to bring my professional level to the required standard?

melia

the BEST possible path to take to get into an ID grad program:

1. get a Bachelors degree in ID.
  2. get an ID job.
  3. work for several years in ID.
  4. plan a course of research.
  5. apply to schools of choice.

so is trying to get into an ID grad program with a sculpture background, is this a completely ridiculous idea?

don’t let me discourage you from going into ID at all.

I really believe most people dont appreciate the fact that a Bachleors is tailored to get people into the profession.
Much, Much more so than a Masters. (with the notable exeptions of IIT and Pratt who intentionally pick non-id students)

Let me ask you this (including the engineer who started this thread) should/could anyone from a different background get into a Masers of Sculpture program?
(Should anyone from a different background be able to walk into a Masters of Mechanical Engineering program?)

Why do so many people think that grad ID is like grad Architecture?

I think a sculpture or an engineering undergrad would be extremely beneficial for getting a master’s in ID. There is a wealth of expertise from those fields that many ID undergrads should aspire to.

who better than a sculptor to appreciate 3D form?