Help needed on First-pullover or sample question

Re-paste of what i posted in another thread forum on accident

Hello guys, I am new to the forums as you can see, and I am fairly new to the shoe business.

Say I have a couple designs already, now where do I go to get it prototype or sample and try it out and from there, what companies should I be approaching to mass produce it?

From what I understand, all of these process are done cheaper over seas, and from what I have been reading, I just need to find a factory and show them my design drawings and things should get up and started right?

I guess the most important questions is, how long the process will take, how much money is required, and best of all, what factory do you guys recommend, or how do I find a reliable factory.

If I am off on my assumptions, please help me get started on the right path.

Last bit of info: We plan to produce around 1,000-10,000 units of our first model (Sport/sneaker shoe).

Sorry for the double post, but as what I have read around on this forum alone, we are prepare for the 100k$ investment.

But can that cost be cut in half? Or further more? Since I reside in the US, is there any recommended factories here that would sample a shoe for us, and worry about the mass production later?

Right now, my main focus is to have a sample completed.

Ah, I get several emails a week about this subject, so I reckon Im pretty well versed…

Dress shoes - you can often find a shoemaker to make a one-off prototype but not for sneakers, it’s pretty rare now. Regular shoemakers cannot make sneakers, it is a completely different skill.

I used to use an independant sample room for sneakers in Pusan (South Korea), but I’m not sure these places exist anymore - they were mostly going out of business back then (6 years ago). AFAIK theres no domestic prototyping of sneakers in the USA.