Help me and your wildest fantasies will come true....

Ok, maybe they won’t. It was worth a shot…

So, here is my situation, or at least a good idea of it:

I am currently a student at the University of Victoria, BC. I did first year engineering there, but that just wasn’t my cup of tea. Too much math, no creativity. I needed something different. I remembered seeing a special on IDEO, and thinking that was the sort of thing I wanted to do. So now I’m kind of in limbo in my second year, just taking classes before I transfer, which brings me to the question: What school should I go to?

Ok, before you all go off and tell me to come to your school, I’ll put a few constraints on where I want to go. Ok, maybe a whole lot (doesn’t hurt to aim high):

I will probably need an english speaking school. I speak a little spanish (I’m half Mexican), understand it pretty well, but probably not well enough to warrant going to a Spanish-speaking school. I’ll have no problem with going to different countries, but I’m not sure how well I’d do in a school that wasn’t in my native language.

Ok, so after it (probably) being an english speaking school, I guess I should say what kind of school. Well, first off I’d like a school that has a lot more than just ID. I’m a musician, so a music program of some sort is a must. Second, freedom. Now I’m totally new to what “freedom” means in terms of design. I just know that engineering != freedom. I’m a bit of a rebel and have wanted to start some sort of open source design movement for a while now, so I guess a school that would not discourage me in that pursuit. Also, I’m not exactly made of money, and do not want to go to school only to spend the next 10 years paying it off (Ok, if the best school is really expensive, I can make exceptions).