Has anyone ever convinced a company to start a design dept?

Have any of you ever gone to an interview with the intention of convincing a heavy industrial company that Industrial Design is just as important as Engineering and that they ought to create a position for you to implement design thinking with colaboration with the engineering and marketing departments.

I’ve tried once or twice, but with no success. I think a better approach is to get them to hire a consultant and then after they see the advantages, offer to come in house. That’s kinda how I landed at Stelpro. They were using a consultant (not me) for a couple of years. When they realized that they could apply design much wider in the company if they had a designer in house, they hired me.

On a side note, I had some interviews when I was a new grad where the post description was “technical draftsman”, but when I showed my portfolio, the interviewers were asking each other, “Maybe we need more than a draftsman?”. I still think back to those interviews with pride, even though I wasn’t hired.

I’m not sure if I’d approach a heavy industrial company and try to convince them that ID is as important as engineering, because it may not. I work for an industrial company and ID is definitely not as important as engineering, but I play a key and necessary role.
I would approach their engineering, marketing, and sales teams and make a business case how ID can compliment their existing resources that would help deliver more innovative products that their customers want, faster. Who do you think you would report to in this company, Engineering or Marketing?

If Design doesnt report direct to the top (same as engineering, marketing), its not going to work. Viewing design as a sub-function of either is a recipe for disaster and a sign that the company doenst truly value design.