Guys, I'm thinking engineering

With all this talk of scarce ID job opportunities Im looking into engineering school. Since I’m getting close to finishing school in ID I feel as if getting into engineering will increase my chances in a full time job. Don’t get me wrong I love design, innovation, and creativity but I also can’t get enough of engineering. Do you guys believe it’s wise?

I just don’t want to find myself graduating and not being able to find a job many months after school.

I studied engineering, and now I am a product designer. Funny, isn’t it?

In my book you have the best of both worlds, more engineering should be taught to ID’rs…lots more.

agreed.

engineering knowledge never hurts. my BID education (Carleton University, Ottawa, Canada) had mandatory courses in Engineering statics, plus physics, chemistry, algebra, calculus, marketing, psychology, economics, in addition to the usual studio and design courses. and these courses weren’t “physics” for designers (dumbed down), but real first year courses taught by the appropriate faculty.

can’t say i use or remember much of the details of those addtional courses, but im certain it has made me a more well rounded designer and better able to appreciate the input of other professional experts in a teamwork situation.

bottomline. know as much about as much as you can.

R

nice mix, and your from there? :laughing: just kidding

there? where? huh?

R

from that school, a joke…never mind.

yup, from a school. that and playing with my lego as a kid, and what more do you need to be a designer ? :wink:

R