GRE's

I was shocked to see that UC required the GRE for any design students applying to their grad school. i really ahven’t researched other schools yet, but is this common? how many of you out there actually took GRE’s? I graduated from art school over 10 years ago… not exactly prepared for taking a standardized test to go to an over rated american school.

It really depends on what program you’re going to grad school for. I remember reading a while back when I was looking at IIT in Chicago that they required the GRE but if you were going into an ID grad program and had your undergrad in ID then they would waive the GRE and replace it with an interview and portfolio review.

Unfortunately for me I want to get an MBA now so I don’t have a choice and depending on the the school I might have to take the GRE or the GMAT (b-school test).

I would call the school and ask what their policy is. Try to get an administrator or dean on the phone and plead your case. If they can tell that you’re passionate about design and really committed then they might work something out with you. Otherwise I would enroll in a Kaplans course or something similar as a refresher so you can practice and get it out of the way.

have you looked at their professional part time program? the master of design methods? it’s treated like a exec mba, part time and fulltime and the gre is waived

on the other hand, I thought IIT was the only grad school asking for a GRE, so the UC one is news to me. probably a requirement by the university rather than the graduate department or school. that’s why IIT requires it. they don’t have a choice.

I just spoke to someone from the University of Cincinnati about this!