Graphic Tablet Recommendation

Hi everyone, I have a question about which graphic tablet should I use. I am majoring in Product Design and have plan to transfer to Art Centre. Therefore, I’m looking for graphic tablet that is not only easy to use for novice like me but also can be useful for my further education. I’m using macbook pro, please give me some recommendation. My budget is about $300, and I think the medium size is enough for me. Thanks.

I’m sure this has been discussed before. But I would recommend getting either a new wacom intuos 4 medium ($349 List) or going for a new/used wacom intuos 3 off of ebay. if you were to get an intuos 3 i would suggest either the 6x8, 6x11, or 9x12. even though they are last generation they are still wonderful devices.

I use a 6x11 with both a 15" macbook pro and my dell workstation with a 24" monitor. The wide aspect of the tablet seems to match pretty well with both devices as far as the tracking goes. For portability the 6x8 is probably the most portable and will fit in any bag. My 6x11 is about an inch wider than my mbp, it still fits in my laptop bag, but just barely.

Good luck with your purchase.

If you go for the intous 3 (you’ll probably still be able to get a good deal on those) don’t buy anything smaller than A5 Wide (6x11 I believe). The 6x8 is a joke if you plan to do digital sketching. Ok for touching up sketches in photoshop, but I was amazed at the difference between A5 and A5 wide when it comes to control. Also, unlike the introus 4, the 3 came in wide for (16:10 monitors) and regular (4:3), since most screens now are wide screen (16:10, and more and more 16:9) the regular will have a height, width ratio that doesn’t fit a widescreen well (alternatively you will have to cut/reduce the active area, in effect making it even smaller, to force it to fit the screen’s proportions).