Graphic Designer to Industrial Designer

I am an Undergraduate set graduate in December. I have made a decision…that my true calling is Industrial Design.

I have been preparing my portfolio since December 04 for application into:

Pratt
Academy of Art College
and RISD

Industrial Design Graduate Programs.

I am new to this forum thing but I have been reading and checking in on the site from time to time well really daily and it is a great resource.

I am posting this for a reality check…what are my chances?

Can I expect to further study…if you need a fill in, on my portfolio I would love to share what I have been working on.

I would just like to hear from those in the field with experience. I have been preparing myself with little to no guidence.

What should I expect…???

prat is better

old easy answer was Masters in ID was mostly worthless. basics you learn in undergrad mattered most. but not sure thats true anymore. times change. ID is fragmenting.

so depends maybe on what you want. if you say you want to go into interactive then i’d say you’re set with Graphics and maybe dont need ID. if you say you want to design mechanical products then its more questionable. IDers take on more engineering than they used to. that would be more difficult for you unless you have aptitude for it. that becomes an individual issue no one but you can answer.

i dont know about masters programs now. but 5 or 10 years ago i knew that IDers i met who had different undergrad degrees mostly sucked. we’d interview them and they had all the answers. except the right ones. my experience.

a masters is often only as good as what a person goes in with. i suspect this is still true. so depends on what you want to do, honest appraisal of your aptitudes, and how much time/money you have. anyone can get into ID. not everyone gets a job in it. especially now.