grad project: new breed of CNC design, need input

I’m in 4th year industrial design and decided to make a new type of CNC machine as my grad project. I’ve already built a CNC so know the technical basics, but for now I’m focusing on the research part first before I can start the build.

My main goals would be:
-make it truly portable, maybe the size of a small airplane luggage or even back pack??

-targeted for artists and designs; to bridge the gap between the client and the machine with more freedom to experiment with the tool itself rather than as a manufacturing device. The machine could directly make the art/design, not just create parts for it. (IE: bring the CNC to the surface/material instead of bringing the material to the CNC).

I need some research and opinions, this is where you guys come in. What do you wish a CNC can do, be improved upon, etc? Any opinions/wishes would be great, no matter how far fetched (for now). What tools besides a router would be cool/helpful? Did you ever wish a CNC was truly portable (you can go to the client’s house instead of them coming to you, can engrave directly on the wall or other oversized surface)? Etc etc. Also what else could a CNC do if there’s another tool attached. Pen = plotter, knife = vinyl cutter, brush = robotic painter?, etc

Thanks in advanced!

What about 3D printing and CNC in the same device? It could cut away metal to make a part, and then add plastics to these parts!

I would think more about your target user… why exactly would they need to bring this to other locations, what would they be doing with it there, what is the benefit of taking your cnc with you, and why does this make more sense than the current ways of doing it? From your description, it’s not completely clear.

If you can answer some of these questions, additional features and design direction might present themselves. You might even want to consider a day in the life of your target user with the cnc