got my first job.......now what????

i graduated as experimental designer last may, and wanted to go into product design. so it took me a couple of months but i started working 3 wks ago. its good and all, im brainstorming, callin, designin, etc. but i feel thers still something missing.

1. thers no room for promotion.
  2. little pay = long hrs
  3. theres more to product design to learn they dont offer.
    (we make things for bags, but i want something like electronic or toy design.)

what should i do? or
what did u do to get ur second better job???

Start looking for the next opportunity.

I know what I have to offer as a designer - as soon as I get the “We don’t have money for raises” speech, my resumes start going out.

I’m on my 3rd job - I probably make more than I would have by staying at the same place for 6 years and holding out for deserved raises.

Employers show no loyalty to employees anymore and will lay you off in a heartbeat if it helps the bottom line. There is no reason that you should show any kind of commitment to them either if they take advantage of you.

Decide what your mid/long term career goals are and if your current job isn’t helping you get there, move on.

It should also be noted that “job hopping” doesn’t look good on your resume either. You should at minimum stay at each job a year or two.

I would put the minimum at 6 months, especially for the first 2-3 years out of school. There’s nothing wrong with changing jobs as you’re figuring out your career path (trying different specialties in the field, or trying large and small firms). It’s not wrong to admit to a potential employer that you spent some time exploring your options. Of course, by the time you qualify for a mid-level position, you need to have a clear sense of your focus, so you’ll obviously tend to stay in one position for a longer time, at least a year.

[quote=“ahs”]i graduated as experimental designer last may,quote]

EXPERIMENTAL DESIGNER?!?!?!?!??!?!!?!!!?!???