Going into ID as a Mature Student

Has anyone here had experience going into ID or back to Design School as a Mature student?

After a few years of Web / Graphic design work, I’m hoping to go back to school for ID here in Toronto (or abroad, or whatever’s clever). I’m only 25 so I have no real family or property tying me down, money is not a huge issue, and the job at my firm is clearly not satisfying if I’m here looking for help to quit :stuck_out_tongue:

The only rub is that I’m entirely self-taught, having left high-school early for a record deal (which wasn’t exactly the meal ticket I’d imagined…a boo-erns)…and fell into design work.

Is it more difficult to get accepted? Do they expect different level of portfolio work from a mature student vs. a kid fresh from high school? Anyone have any first hand experience or advice in this?

Did you ever go back to get a GED? I’m pretty sure High School Diploma or GED will be required.

Other than that, you shouldn’t have a problem. You will be held to the same expectations as any applying student, but will have the advantage of professional work in your folio. Since you don’t have a previous college diploma, you won’t have double the school loans like other older students. If you push the faculty enough, they might even give you credit for some of your professional work so you might be able to skip some classes, allowing you to focus more!

Thx, Never thought about using my work portfolio for credit.

A GED in Canada is not required for any College / University but it’s up to the school’s discretion to let you in.

EDIT: AFAIK…it’s been about 7 years since I was in school :wink:

I took several years off after school to work and travel.
Schools don’t really hold you to a higher standard than younger students for acceptance, but that’s not to say that professors won’t (and that’s not a bad thing!)

I have had great professors who push me hard and expect a lot from me, but it’s well worth it.