Going for the job that doesn't exist yet. Tricky.

Okay, so I have 7 years experience under my belt and am currently being entertained by a sporting-goods company. I have extensive experience in that particular industry and will be going to a competitor and working with old friends. Seems all good, right?

Well, they are about 10 years behind in development and design methods when compared to what I’ve worked with in the past. Very old-school, but know they need to step it up. I can do that, but it would require me taking on the responsibilities of director. I’d need full control of the department and they’d need to be open to doing things in new ways. It’s the only way I could be successful there.

Again, they do not have a director at this point. No scheduling, no methodology, no industrial designers. Just a bunch of guys that have been in the industry a long time.

How do I go about presenting this? “Hey, I can help get you to where you want to be, but you need to do it this way.” I know what the competition does, I know the structure and how to get products out fast and done well. I’ll fail if they don’t do it the way I’m used to though.

I can’t say that I’ve been in that position, but our co. has undergone a similar design transition in the past 5 years.

Our philosophy has been “play catch-up” first to get the most essential things up-to-date, like unifying the product family languages, getting graphics and logos in line, basically refreshing the line which should help you gain some friends in the other departments. You should not underestimate the power of the dark side - oops I mean sales and marketing people - in helping you get things done on the engineering and design side of the wall. At the very least, providing the company’s sales force with new stuff will make you look good and build some momentum for future projects.