Going for a new direction...

I’m going for a new job with a pos retail design company, as i’ve had little experience within this sector but i think my experience in furniture/interior design would help me as i have all of the software requirements they are demanding.

My question/query is should i go to town selling myself, i need some new pieces in my portfolio and i had a flash of idiocy (inspiration) in the night, creating new portfolio pieces out of my portfolio and making into a popup book as the company deals with a large amount of cardboard retail units for large fashion brands.

The idea was to create a pop-up resume/portfolio and send it to them, as a case study of form, brand styling and demonstrating my various skills in animation, large 3d assembly giggery and conceptualizing within a flashdrive i would enclose on the last page of the popup book.

Is this a bit too informal or should i just create something a lot more fun, and eye-catching for the target market. (recent graduate, similar to myself) Would i be better off if it was formal, had strict styling on each page and wasn’t as showy of my personality and my attitude to design?

I don’t think that your idea is informal so much as you might get called out by people well versed in cardboard construction unless you do it really slick.