Going back for ID Degree, where to start?

Forgive me for not searching first (the cardinal forum sin, I know, but all newbs should get one as a Mulligen) but since my background is probably unlike most others here goes…

I’m 28 and without any educational background in design. Recently I decided to pursue the opportunity for a Bachelor’s in ID. Still working on the when/where/how, and of course, the money, but I believe those questions will all be resolved in due time. What I’m currently looking for is what might be a good place to start getting ramped up before diving in head first when back at school. I’ve been told by a good source that freehand sketching is the essential skill to master, and immediately bought the book Conceptual Drawing, and have been doing some pencil sketching, practicing when I can.

That said, does anyone else have any recommendations for what supplies I should start picking up, such as would it be better for me to invest in some markers or other medium or does it really just come down to preference (or school)? While Core77 (or maybe it was Coroflot, I can’t recall) had a list of books, are there any that someone would strongly recommend for a rather novice drawer?

Any and all help, suggestions, feedback and encouragement are greatly appreciated. While this is my first post I hope in time to become an active contributor. For anyone that is curious as to my (one of many, many) reasons I decided to pursue this is that I’ve been designing in SolidWorks for about 6 years now, and would say I’m pretty good at it (Certified Professional, Support Technician and Instructor). So if anyone has SolidWorks related questions, design or otherwise, fire away.

If you are located around/near Pasadena, check out Art Center’s At Night courses. If you are really serious about it, I’d recommend taking Tony Yao’s courses in drawing.