GLASS TOP TABLE

I acquired a large thick pristine sheet of tempered glass.

I have access to a wood shop as well as people that have access to metal shops.

I would like to make a coffee table or a dining table. I have never built furniture before and I see this can be a good opportunity to explore that.

Any suggestions? anyone with experinces? links?

Noguchi all the way!!!

If you have access to workworking equipment then I would play around with interlocking shapes and see what you come up with. A plain old table is too boring.

There are as many ways to go about designing a coffee or dining table as there are people.

I’m not a fan of the Noguchi coffee table, but that is one way to go about it.

How about not even using a base and suspending the surface from the cieling with stainless cables?

Use caution when cutting sheets of glass on a table saw. :exclamation:

I cut a big sheet of glass on a table saw once, I lost all three of my hands and a foot!

[quote=“73lotus”]There are as many ways to go about designing a coffee or dining table as there are people.

I’m not a fan of the Noguchi coffee table, but that is one way to go about it.

How about not even using a base and suspending the surface from the cieling with stainless cables?[/quote]

Yes that would be very safe. hahahha. large glass surface swinging from the cieling. cool way to look at it, but def. not gonna work.

it a finished beveld tempered glass.

all it needs is a base.

Don´t forget that a coffe table has to be usable as well.
I would be tempted of making a base in wood that allows to put magazines, or whatever underneath.
Allright it might not be as spectacular as Noguchi´s but It might prove more useful.

Yea i agree, i honestly wouldnt want a Noguchi type anyway.

I want a more architectural, simple, angular one. and yea, with more usability, to hide/put 3 remote controls, mags, junk mail, coffe table book about coffee tables, etc…

Sounds like you realy want a box not a table?