Getting into the shoe industry + Additional Schooling

I have 3 years of experience as a retail environments designer as well as a degree in Industrial Design. At this point, I’ve decided that I want to make the leap (no pun intended) to fashion footwear design. I have a decent amount of confidence in my skills and ideas, but I am finding companies not quite as receptive as I would like (okay, not receptive at all…) My first concern is that I am missing the 2-3 years of experience they all request.

At this point I am considering taking several night classes at FIT on shoe design/construction and working with leather/materials. As well as trying to get on with a company as more of an intern/apprentice while I’m in school. But before I make the commitment to do that I was hoping to get some feedback as to whether it would be a worthwhile investment.

Is what I would learn in those classes similar to what I would more quickly learn in the first 2 weeks of a full time design position?

I would hate to go through that extra schooling and still not be able to get an employers attention at the end of the day.

Any feedback on the situation or people’s experiences with FIT would be really helpful.

Thanks!

-JK

What kind of footwear do you see yourself being involved with?

Primarily fashion footwear. Styles such as Kenneth Cole, Cole Haan, Steve Madden, etc…

-JK

Where do you live? Have you considered Skechers? PM me.

-TH

Getting into the shoe design industry can be tough, but very rewarding. Like most industries, there’s always the chickenvs. egg issue of needing experience to get a job, but needing a job to get experience.

Im not familiar with the FIT courses, but not sure if they would really make a huge difference. Can’t hurt, however and shows you are serious about learning.