Getting into the Footwear Industry

I am a soon-to-be Product Design graduate, yet I have always had a burning passion for footwear. I was encouraged to do my current degree course as it offered variety and opened up a lot of different avenues, although right now I’m feeling a little cheated.

I’d love to get into the footwear industry, and have focused my Final Major Project on the design and manufacture of some discursive shoes, even making contacts in China in order to do so. However, when trying to get a job in this area, I am told I need specific footwear experience, even to the point where I was told there wasn’t really a hope of me getting onto a Footwear Masters course without a distinct prior knowledge.

I am therefore going down to london (i am based in edinburgh) to do an intensive shoe-making course with Paul Thomas. This is in preparation of perhaps going for a Masters at Cordwainers, but does anyone know if there is an alternative route? (the masters is going to be hugely costly) Is there anywhere anyone knows of that give internships in footwear?

How do I get started in footwear?

I’d really appreciate your comments, thank you :smiley:
Jili

Jili Allen l creative l www.jiliallen.com

I would say an internship is your best opportunity to get your foot in the door. Contact brand companies as well as footwear license companies for internships. Sketch the hell out of footwear to have something to show in your folio.

Slowly. It’s always a catch-22 in any specific industry that you need experience to get a job, but need a job to get experience. That’s where the internships come in useful. As I’m sure you’ve also seen on the portfolios and forums here on core, footwear is a very competitive industry and the talent pool out there is vast. Build your portfolio, sketch a ton, and try to learn as much as you can about production and construction (your course in London and your project sound like a good start).