Getting in/grades/chicago UIC Idustrial design

I graduated with an English degree in 2004 from a big 10 university. I’ve realized that I want to go back for industrial design. My grades weren’t awesome. about a 2.6 overall with a 3.2 in my major and an upward trend of improvement.

Does anyone know what UIC looks for in their potential ID students? I’m thinking a second bachelors since I don’t have a portfolio of work to show for a masters program. I’m curious as to how difficult this may be given the circumstances of my application.

Please help??

First, I might look into the two ID schools within the University of Illinois system first.

There is UIUC, and UIC. At the time I graduated in 2005, UIC was still struggling with
being a very small program, and wasn’t very organized. UIUC’s program was much more organized, and within the midwest, thier students recieved a lot of respect; as there are many well known Alum currently working in the field. Although its in Champaign, it was fairly well connected as long as the IDSA student chapter was proactive.

Second, portfolio is very important because it shows how you solve problems creatively. That being said, if you can show a creative problem solving approach, you may have an advantage. Without a portfolio though, you may find it to be a challenge. You may have better luck looking at design, user research, or interaction design, which all fall under the umbrella of ID as well. Don’t want to discourage…

Thanks for the info I appreciate it. Is the undergrad program also very dependent on a portfolio? Just curious. I may be better suited for an undergrad program since I’m looking to have a very hands on approach to things. From what I’ve read, the masters programs are a lot about the process and planning in design and less about the concepts and aesthetics. Is there truth to that?

Thanks a million