Generalists in Design Consultant Firms

I am currently an IT project manager (implementation side) that has a strong interest in entering the world of design consultancy. I have an undergraduate engineering degree, but do not wish to enter as an engineer (it certainly wasn’t my first love). I have software development experience, but again, not where I want to spend my time. I have a large amount of experience in data analysis and typical managerial activities, including cost/benefit analysis, long-term planning, project trajectories and timelines, etc.

I know I want to enter the design world, and preferably on the side of physical, not software, products. I think the atmosphere of a design consulting firm would suit me well. I am looking for the fast-paced, team-oriented problem solving that comprises much of their jobs.

However, I am unsure as to how I would fit in the organization or how to “market” myself to those types of companies, since I have little experience in the types of product design I would be engaged in. My overall work experience totals just over three years, with two of those being in management.

My question is: what types of jobs are available in these companies that I might be qualified for? Are there non-management positions for generalists? If so, how do I market my skills so that I make myself look the best to these companies? Please let me know if further information about my background or desires would help you provide a more helpful answer. I appreciate your time and responses.

Well, either no one works for a design consulting firm here, or they are worried about revealing jobs to non-designers!

Can I be more helpful or descriptive in posing my question, or does no one really have an answer for this one?

Thanks again!