GA Tech

I’d like to hear some unbiased comments on GATech’s undergraduate ID program. It is of primary concern to me as it is the only decent school that I would be able to receive in-state tuition for, making it one of the few affordable to me.
Thom

Hey there

I don’t know all that much personally about G.Tech, but we had 4 exchange students from there here in Sweden, and I was really impressed with most of them. They are definately better at the research part of the proccess then most I have seen. Sketches were good, not fantastic, and they mostly hadn’t used most of the 3D programs. I think they had used Form-Z though, now that I think about it.

Very business oriented and professional program, I’d say. Might just need a bit of a creative kick in the rear.

Best of luck!

I am a Georgia Tech graduate from the Industrial Design program. Overall I think the program is pretty good academically speaking. However I do regret the fact that they focus more on the technical aspects of design and put too much emphasis on building prototypes rather than exploring innovative ideas. When I was there a good percentage of the time we spent building foam models for our designs. The “exploratory”, idea-storming process was not as intensive as it should be. Maybe if they spent more time developing the ideas the overall creativity in the projects of the students would improve. I also found that many times the faculty tries to impose too much their own ideas on the designs, which in most ocassions resulted in products that lacked an innovative edge. Sometimes you just had to “go” with what your professor wanted just to be able to earn a good grade.