Furniture Design

I have been a graphic designer for the past 5 years and I run my own studio. I’ve always known that I couldn’t do graphic design forever, it simply isn’t what I am passionate about. My real passion is furniture design. I fell into graphic design by growing up designing posters and websites for bands. It was simply a good way to make a quick buck and now I am beginning to feel the weight of never having time to do what I want to do.

I grew up building furniture and high-end cabinetry as a part time job with my father who owns his own shop. But his work is all commissioned.

I want to make furniture on spec and sell it in boutique storefronts. Is that even a possibility? Should I go to school, or just spend a few years experimenting while whittling down my graphic design practice?

I have done a bit of research on some furniture design degrees RISD and SCAD (I am in ATL, so a move to Savannah isn’t out of the question) and I’m just not sure that I need to take woodworking or design courses since I have all of this woodwork under my belt. I am not saying that these wold not benefit me greatly, I just don’t want to shell out the cash for school when I have some existing skills. I feel almost like going to school would just be a networking move at this point.

Does anyone have any advice on the matter? I guess I just laid a lot out there that can be the answers to my own questions, but does anyone have any info on selling handmade furniture in storefronts? Is that even something that people do?

Thanks in advance…

I am going to assume a few things:

1. You have a relationship with your father that is conducive to using him as a mentor.
  2. You have some assemblance of “design sense” being that you’re a graphic designer.
  3. You have some time on your hands, or at the very least, can make time based on the idea that you’re considering going to school.