FROM PRODUCT TO TRANSPORTATION

i didn’t graduate from a transportation design program. i’ve worked my whole career in product design, 20+ years now. a recruiter calls me the other day with 2 id job ops and i submit my resume. i get a follow up call the next day telling me i have all the reqs and the hiring manager wants to see my book, and by the way the jobs are in transportation.

seems to me that my odds are slim and none, but i was curious if anyone else has made this transition without any transportation experience?

if so, what do you think it was about your skills/experience/personality that made it possible?

how is transportation design different from your product design experience?

Can you give more details on what kind of transporation company is it? Is it a major car manufacturer? Is it a supplier? Is it a smaller design studio? What kind of cars do they usually deal with? Which part of the world( US, Europe etc)?

I have no real experience but I can at least tell you what I know( since I have friends in GM and such).

Also, is the offical title an exterior designer, interior designer, color and trim or??? It doesn’t mean that working for a transportation natured studio means that you will be designing cars. Most of it is still product based.

the ops are interior and exterior with a large us manufacturer, not cars but same basic components.