From Marketing to Design | First Steps?

Morning All,

I’m a Marketing BA graduate from a small private school here in Minneapolis, and have recently become interested in design thinking and sustainable design strategies. They never tell you in high school what your real passions will be at 25, but none the less here I am. In my opinion, and correct me if I’m wrong, design thinkers will be at the helm of future positive change related to consumption and production, and want to do my part to have a positive impact. I’ m hoping to begin a path towards sustainable product design and design thinking style roles for this to be accomplished, but need to figure out the correct first steps.

I was hoping to gather recommendations of schools to consider, roles to look at with a Marketing BA, and opportunities for immersion into the design world, now.

Any and all information is of help, and appreciate the feedback.

Jeff

welcome to Core77
it’s a big topic and has come up here before in the past, perhaps someone will post links to those threads.
its fairly easy to look at design schools, (it doesn’t sound like you want to become a designer though) harder to find good strategic thinking and sustainability schools. would you consider an MBA or studying abroad?

Some companies, typically medium to large, can have their own marketing group within the new product development group. Meaning, they are separate from the traditional marketing groups that focus on downstream activities like sales, advertising, support materials, etc.

Theses NPD groups have typically a technical side and a marketing side. The technical side is charged with solving the problem. The marketing side is charged with determining the problem and taking the solutions from the technical side into the field for evaluation. Some call it upstream marketing.