From Lawyer to Product Designer: Is it possible?

Hi all! I’m new to Core77 and product design. I recently graduated with a law degree and the considerable student debt that often comes with it. I’m 30 years old with a bachelor of arts in humanities and the aforementioned juris doctorate - yet I’m considering going to design school for a bachelors of science in product design. As ignorant as it may sound, I never knew the field of product or industrial design existed. Now that I am aware (as of last month), I am exuberant and confounded. I wholeheartedly believe that product design is my calling, that I will leave a more profound legacy with design than I might law. However, my age and student debt force me to quiet my enthusiasm and ask if I have found my calling too late in the game. My professional experience has been predominately in sales, marketing, and management. I’m a California native and have been looking at a local but well recognized institution: Art Center College of Design (Pasadena) - however, the degree would cost well over $100K. I apologize for my lengthy introduction, my questions are:

1. If, by some miracle, I can manage the means to pay for the education, is it worth pursuing at my age and educational background?

2. Is it possible to do an internship or apprenticeship with a design consultancy before beginning a design degree?

3. How formal would a portfolio need to be for admissions purposes, what does one include? I have a journal with 100+ pages of product sketches and notes but it is incredibly informal and was never intended for anyone’s eyes but my own.

4. What is the measure of a great product designer? And is the career path of a product designer to either become an in-house designer, work for a design house, or manage their own consultancy? Are there product designers who design, manufacture and sell to consumers under the same label/company?