from ID to transportation design

Hello all,

I’m an ID student at Carleton University, Ottawa. I have been searching the whole forum but couldn’t come across with an answer I’m looking for.So I decided to post my question. Hope someone can help…

My passion is Transportation design and really want to find a job in related field after the graduation…I know how hard and competitive it is to find a job after school. And I also know that Car Design or Transportation Design is such a different subject than ID.

So here is my question:

I think that the elements for interior design of a car design is very different than the exterior design. Also ID’ers, we have unique understanding of form,function, ergonomics, userability, etc. If I concentrate on interior design rather than exterior design*(in my major project), would there be any chance to find a job in a car company.?

Thanks in advance!!

mfy

1. What year are you? If you are graduating this year, it will be nearly impossible.

2. If you are a first year student, start concentrating on what you will need to succeed in trans. design. That is, incredible sketching ability.

Also, try to select projects that will have some application to trans. design. I imagine that you won’t have a car design project, but maybe you could do a roof-top camper concept for an sport equipment project.

I wouldn’t hesitate to do a side project as well. You have four years and access to a well-equipped shop (a shop that will be under-utilized at the beginning of the year…hint hint). Get yourself some clay. Do a design over the summer and build a model at the beginning of next year in your shop.