From ID to Art Direction

I’m a 32-year-old industrial designer looking to expand my creative “field”. I’m interested in many things beyond product design and in fact, find myself enjoying directing creative work (when I have the rare chance) much more. And at the suggestion of a personal confidant, I’m thinking to start educating myself to be an art director. However, upon some quick research, it seems like most art directors have backgrounds in graphics and branding (which makes sense), not industrial design. Has anyone here gone the route from ID to art direction? Can you share your experience on how you got to your position and what being an art director is like?

Hi Dhu,
While not an “art director”, I am a 32 yr old design manager for a large corporation, which is equal parts project management and creative direction of agencies. My background is ID, but as a part of my role I am being exposed to and required to manage graphics and branding as well. I have been in this role for about 4 years - with the graphics and branding being added in the last two.

The group that I work in has a range of backgrounds (ID, GD, Branding, and some Apparell). Everyone is crossing over into different territories and diversifying right now, as our responsibilities are broken down by brand. It is much easier to learn to manage the graphics work coming from an ID background than it is for the the graphics folks to manage the ID work. The learning curve on ID work for a GD person is much longer because of all the engineering considerations.