From designer to industrial designer

I’m currently a product / package designer that would like to transition into a industrial designer. I graduated in illustration so I’m a little light on all the engineering type of stuff. I want to take beginner drafting classes and I currently can work in Rhino.

I have been a product designer for two years now and I’m wondering what else it takes for me to learn, inorder to become a industrial designer?

Will Rhino be a good program to work in or do I need a CAD program (Pro E or CAD Tools) under my belt?

Will drafting classes at two year community college help?
Basically what info do I need inorder to gain that industrial designer title and pay?

I’m a little confused since you say you are a product designer already. Industrial Design and Product Design is pretty much the same thing, I’m assuming you are doing mostly Packaging Design then?

I made a jump from Art Director to Industrial Designer about five years ago, so here’s my advice anyway:

Learn either Pro/E or Solidworks. Rino is OK, but the advantage that the other programs have besides being about a million times more robust is that they are widely used in the industry. Plus, it will help you get a foot in the door. You may wind up doing some “CAD jockey” work as your first form of employment, which is perfectly OK, since you can learn a lot of valuble stuff from temporary CAD jobs.

Second, educate yourself. Read about the profession. Read about sketching techniques. Read about manufacturing teqniques. All the info you need is out there if you look hard enough.

Third, design like crazy. Its like learning an instrument. The more you put in, the more you get out. Try to stockpile as much ID work as you can because you will need it for the fourth item on the list which is…