freelancing for a company outside home-country - tips?

Although i have been following this forum for quite a long time, it is the first time i post here. So, glad to be part of core77 bif community.

I was recently contacted by a company outside my home-country asking me if i am interested to work on some of their products as a freelance designer. Yet we have not talked much therefore not many information to share with you.
However, if any of you have done this before and have some time, it would be nice to share some experiences from issues related directly to the process as well as trivia that may play an indirect role and people like me should have in mind (example: time difference bewteen countries and how may affect communicatione etc.)

Thanks a lot for any piece of information you can share!

4L3

I’ve been doing this for the last 10 years with companies in China. Here are some tips that apply to almost any freelance project:

• Make sure you understand the project!! An accurate design brief is critical or you will be wasting a lot of time. If language is a barrier then make sure the translations are accurate. Agree on the deliverables up front!!
  • Understand the culture of the company. Know their expectations. What type of freelancers have they worked with before and what did they deliver?
  • If you are working with the Orient then don’t expect a lot of “atta-boys”. In general they don’t get really excited and give praise.
  • A time difference between locations can be leverage by sending work at the end of the day and having them review it while you sleep (for a 12 hour time difference like China). The project is always moving forward.
  • Make sure you get paid. I usually ask for some up-front money to start. They need to get some skin in the game. Wire transfers are sometimes difficult to shake loose at the end of a project. I’ve held my final 3-D files ransom to get paid.