Freelancers Working Direct with BIG Companies

I’m a retail design freelancer and I typically get the bulk of my work from brand/marketing agencies and manufacturers of POP displays. I’ve done work for some big multinational and national companies over the years but it has always been via my client so I rarely get to pitch my ideas, follow through on development or get involved in the manufacturing process.

I’m beginning to feel I could offer a lot of expertise and increase my exposure by working directly with these companies, so I’m working on a self marketing program to pitch myself to large multinational companies. I must state, I am NOT going after any of my clients clients… I’m not in the habit of biting off the hand that feeds me. There are however a lot more companies out there to pitch to.

So, my question is… are there any individuals out there who work independently with large multinational companies ?
What services or benefits can you offer that they can not get through a design agency or manufacturer directly ?
Does your client know you are an individual or do you pitch yourself as a ‘company’ ?

I have my pitch but I’m interested to see if there is anything I may have missed that might help my argument to work with me directly.

Cheers!

ouch… no one ?

I have a couple like that but those I got from previous relationships (used to work fulltime for them or through that type of network). I’m about to do the same thing, but I don’t have any experience approaching places cold that I have no previous connection with. A few have approached me but for things I didn’t really specialize in at the moment so I had to pass.