freelance work.. seeking for opinion

i am a freelance product designer, my client needs a design for
his playground system, but he wants me to
come out with a brand name for this system before any
designing works should start.

This project has been dragged over a month and stucked just because of
the disagreement of brand names that i have proposed to him.

Am i too careless to accept this project condition?
Is Brand name creation also a part of our work?
Any opinion?

Companies pay big dollars for branding. Here are some firms that do it:

http://www.zunpartners.com/home.html

Many advertising companies and public relations companies are also getting into this business. This is more of a graphic design/marketing function not ID. Sounds to me like you have a bad client who wants to do things on the cheap. Move on. Sounds like you will lose money on this job.

Although it may not be a skill traditionally taught, it is a service that many clients are asking for. By having a brand name and focus laid out before you begin designing you can fit a product into that “Brand Image”.

If you are creating the “Brand Image” and the initial product for that line then here is what has worked for me in this situation.

1. Sit down with client, and members from his sales, marketing, business development teams. Brain storm possible names. Use the no suggestion is a bad suggestion. Also ask them to provide a verbal description of what this brand would portray or look like(products not logo). Write all down on a large easel using the post-it brand easel paper. Then as you fill up a page stick it to the wall and move on to the next. Continue this for as long as they are producing viable suggestions. Also to get the best response do this away from their offices, I have rented a conference room at a hotel for most. You will also contribute ideas, possibly have 5-10 written down do start the session off.