Freelance work and sites like Fiverr

I just lost a bid for some POP rendering/concept work (and some packaging graphic design) because the client said I’m asking too much. He’s one of those maybe shady entrepreneurial types trying to get some product he “invented” into stores and needed some help. He had the mechanical engineering/design work done in Asia, and his original logo, packaging design, and marketing video done on Fiverr for $30! I gave him a VERY reasonable quote/proposal for both the graphic design and the rendering work, and his response was something like “yeah, you said this won’t take more than a few hours…this isn’t in my budget” (I budgeted 6 hours for each project including calls, meetings, and three rounds of revisions) I could lower my price but I’m not, I’ve been doing this for 12 years and it’s not worth it to do some work that undermines my profession for $100 total trying to keep up with someone who will essentially work for free in somewhere like Pakistan or Belarus.

How can the profession deal with this? I’m not doing jobs for $30. A plumber makes more than that.

This is the story of most of my freelance life. Nobody wants to pay for this stuff. I’m super pissed off and frustrated.

Sites like that have existed for a while, at the end of the day you need to bring your products and quality to a level where you can clearly articulate what they’ll get for $30 and what they’ll get for $3000 - at that point it’s up to them.

If they just needed any kind of crapped together graphics for his THC-infused bubble gum cardboard POP stand, then just walk away. He’ll probably realize that he’s not going to get what he actually wants out of it in a few weeks and either come back, or be happy with the crap he got.