Freelance rate for seasoned i.d.

I have been freelancing for 4 years and know that I am not charging enough. What is the range of freelance rates for a seasoned designer? (14 years of experience) I specialize in toys, fashion, sporting goods, and pretty much anything I can get my grubby hands on. Does anyone know what Target corporation pays out to consultants?

If I had your years of experience I would be charging no less than $100 per hour.

What do you charge now?

Obviously not enough! Thanks for the input.

I charged $25 per hour first 3 years out of school. Then I raised it to $50 from 3-5 years. Then $75…the more portfolio and professional experience the more I raised the bar. I think $100 per hour is fair for 8-10+ years of real world experience.
Think about it…if they make 100,000 units of your design and divide your design fee by that the design cost to the client is literally close to nothing.

I have talked to another person with even more experience than me, and $100 is reasonable, but unfortunately, it can lose clients. (We are midwest based, but work with clients all over the world. When the coasts were in a slump, we still had work.) It seems like it is a balance between keeping the clients happy and making it worth one’s time. Alot of seasoned I.D.s I know are coming in right around what you are charging now. So, you are doing great! It is one of those funny things-I remember coming out of school and making great money. After 4 years with pitiful raises, kids were coming out making more than me! The trick is to keep ahead of the market without pricing yourself out of the market.

That’s a bit low. Where are you located. If you pay all your own taxes and benefits that really amounts to $12.50 an hour.

Oh no. I was referring to your $75 per hour, not the $25 per hour. $25 is ramen noodle money.

Well, i have 10 years of experience, 8 in company and 2 freelancing,
i don’t charge per hour, because i never know how long it’s going to take