Freelance job - questions

Hello everybody

I’ m designer from Poland (member of European Union since year). I have 5+ years experience (mostly in graphics for web - layouts, banners, but also I was working for big Polish e-learning company http://www.ydp.com.pl for 2 years, and I know Toolbook quite good…). I’m looking now for contacs with small agencies from USA and UK, and I have few questions:

• Is it possible to find work by internet, without personal contact?
  • How employers looks at foreign freelancers (question of language etc)?

My portfolio (very temporary - it’s hard to find time for self-promotion:-/): http://www.rszwed.superhost.pl (mostly pitch works for big Polish internet agencies).

Best Regards
Remigiusz Szwed

…not only possible but doable…i’ve completed 6 or 7 projects this way…but clients who are open to this kind of virtual relationship are the exception, i am sorry to report…

ehh… I worked /work for 2 agencies in other towns, without personal contacts - only e-mails, gadugadu (sort of an internet communicator) and - hardly ever - phone… But in this cases I was recommended by friends/ex co-workers and I think that it was helped. I’'m going to redesign my portfolio with flash and graphical bangs and search further.

thx for replay

Get something up on core, it’ll help a lot. I’ve been contacted by locals, a few out of states and twice from overseas (lost to their cheaper local talent of course). But it can happen…with high speed internet, conference calling on your home computer, fax + email, it’s not much different than working with people on a different floor in your office building. It’s just an odd thing for some to get used to but you can do just about everything short of handling product from a remote location with a few adjustments in communication technique.