freelance hourly rate

Hi all,

I’m looking for some input on freelance hourly rates for industrial designers in the LA area. I’ve got about 5 years of experience plus a Master’s degree in ID, but I’m new to LA and haven’t done any freelance work here yet.

I’ve been approached by a manufacturing company based in Hong Kong to design a few possible product lines. The products would be fashionable soft goods like backpacks, laptop bags, camera cases, etc. My role would be detailed designs and specifications, basic sourcing/costing, but no prototyping/sampling.

Any suggestions/advice appreciated!!!

Thanks!

Goody, more backpacks. There certainly aren’t enough in the market already. hope you have some really amazing ideas to make your designs stand out.

Anyhow, I would charge $50-65/hr.

Wait a sec. A manufacturer in Hong Kong wants a designer in LA to source? Somethng wrong with this picture.

That does sounds weird!
why would they hire a freelance from LA for $60/hr when they can get it in HK for $20 with 10 yrs experience?

$20 /hr in HK? I think that is a entire design/enginering staff in HK you are speaking of…

Actually, HK is using a lot of western Industrial Designers. They are begining to see what they lack in the market place. Not to mention they are pumping big bucks into the higher education of design within China. I noticed some American professors going over there to teach.

I work with a bunch of manufacturers over there and it is like baby siting - they are in great need of people who can decifer things visually…

I am in Chicago, and was offered some freelance over there as well- I think it is a new trend in China. They want to design and market their own goods at higher margin. Maybe it’s because we keep on beating them up on their manufacturering pricing.

How are all of you getting noticed by HK companies for Freelance?

swingmonster@hotmail.com