Footwear Internship Question

Hey everyone, especially those in the business…

I am a student seeking some advice… It is my goal to get an internship in footwear this summer, I know I have a lot to work on but I feel my portfolio is definitely lacking in the footwear department, I only have one full concept and rendering remotely close to showing.

Footwear is my passion and I know this is what I want to do… My question is although I may not be the best out there at drawing shoes and sketching would I still have a shot if applying?

We do not get proper training here at my university especially in the rendering and sketch department, most of it is going to be self taught…

We are in fact a much more hands on school, we only have one class in 3d and one drawing class…

My initial conception of an internship is to help you grow as a designer and help give you real work experience and teach, am i wrong?

Thanks

thing about internships is do not expect too much and to magically grow into an awesome designer.

Most of your time will be (from my experience) as an observer, to see how the company you are at works. It is up to you to spend the time to improve based on what you see. Interships are 9-5 (mainly) you have a hole free evening to yourself - use that time to practice what you observe (sketching and presentation techniques, entering in competitions, CAD modelling)

Internships are about having a taster of what it is like to be a full fledge and being motivated to get to that end point. Likewise the flip side they can motivate you to get better so you dont end up in that type of company (i know mine was)

What you will learn that you dont at school is how money is translated into design, internal polictics, deadlines are even more serious because someone is paying a lot of money and time scales. There is no ‘jumping through hopes’ it is a case of get the job done.