First post on C77, asking for a little portfolio direction

Hey all,

This is my first post here on Core 77. This place seems like a tremendous resource and I’m glad to be a part.

I’m currently a second semester student at Academy of Art University. I spent two years studying digital art and philosophy at Ursinus College before attending AAU.

Although I’m new to ID, I’d love some good input on my portfolio. I am pretty lost on creating layouts.

Thanks!

not bad.

I guess it’s what they always say: show more process.

Your teapot is clearly the most refined project of yours but show some sketches, mock-ups and models.

I didn’t get that illustrator-car-sketch thing… what is that?

I really do need to get the sketches all together. That’s next on the list. I have them for the Laser gun as well.

The car sketch was done in Vellum. I did it on my own before our computer drafting teacher came in each class. Should it stay or go? It’s probably the only thing I’ll have relating to cars. I’m doing product.

Also, do you know any free places besides Youtube that I might be able to host my digital video work?

Thanks!

well, if it was me, I would kick the car thing out. Are you interested in cars?
the emphasis on transportation design in the ID world annoys the heck out of me.
Why would you need anything related to cars if your are not looking for a job in that field? It’s almost some kind of weird status thing…

So my suggestion, if your really want a flare of something transportation, them make a few nice renderings instead. Right now it just seems completely detached from everything else.

About the video… you could always host them yourself. Get some server space and put them up.

.b

I love cars but I have no plans to pursue trans design. I’ll take it out then. I have one more project to prep pictures of, too.

… that’s not a sketch.

How about stuff you’ve done on paper? Freehand stuff? That vellum just looks like you’ve traced over a car.