First post, a question on plastics

Hi everyone. Hope I’m not too dumb by posting this - I did a brief search but couldn’t find anything quite specific enough. I’m not an ID student by trade, I do 3D/Graphic design, but I have a large interest in the field, so…yea, here goes :slight_smile:

Anyway, I have an aircraft design project where I have a high strength carbon fibre tube frame, covered with (maybe) plastic. One of the top three design goals is extreme ease of construction - the frame itself goes together like a plumbing set (tubes into PVC joints, joints covered with carbon fibre). Now, I want to cover the airframe with flat plates of plastic, for a faceted design. Other than wind resistance up to about 200 mph, the panels will not support structural loads.

So my issue is that I need an easily cutable, paintable (if not immediately opaque, then must be able to be turned opaque via painting), high strength plastic. It needs to be low cost (as much as feasible), come in sheets, and be resistant to avgas, oil, and possibly battery acid. UV resistance is also a huge plus. Also should be able to be secured to the Carbon Fibre skeleton via either epoxy or bolts (preferably the former).

So far it’s a toss up between ABS, PVC, and PC plastics. This is the first time I’ve actually examined plastics as an alternative skin covering, so I’m still a bit lost, but as far as I can tell, PC is the strongest, followed by ABS then PVC? I don’t know if PC is paintable though, and doesn’t it have problems with battery acid/gasolene?

Cheers everyone, thanks for any help you can provide. Maybe I’ll run the gauntlet and post design pictures later :smiley: