Fire and Wood

My wife is possessed with the notion of us getting a tattoos.

Like a lot of couples, we have a song that relates to us; in part it tells of s relationship as that of fire to wood; one consumed by the other, and nothing without each other.

Do these translate as fire and wood?

Thanks

Hi. I don’t know anything about Chinese characters since I’m not Chinese. BUT having a tattoo I will say this…make sure YOU want it.

As a designer, I decided to come up with an original design…much more meaningful to me. I think its a sweet notion, the fire and wood thing… however i do sort of see the whole chinese character thing as a fad (i’m not trying to be mean). This is going to be on you forever and fads fade quickly when measured against the rest of your life.

There was this girl classmate that had a Chinese character that was supposed to mean something, but it was the wrong one. I told her about it. I don’t think I should have.

i do sort of see the whole chinese character thing as a fad

The whole tattoo thing’s a fad now, isn’t it?

This is going to be on you forever

I agree with you eG, but try to tell my wife that; she’s dyin’ for the touch. And with a maiden name of Welsh she’s as Irish as they come, so I’m not sure why she isn’t attracted to Celtic art. At least that would be somewhat “ancestral.”

… and 'cow’s laughing at the thought that these two are really going to have the words “train-station” tattooed onto their ankles …[/i]

As for the tattoo thing being a fad as well, I totally agree with you. However I’ve wanted one since I was 10, not because others thought it was cool…but because I think its a beautiful way to decorate your body. Even from a young age I’ve always loved the design of things, in whatever form they take.

As for the fire/wood tattoo, did you think of other ways the concept could be represented? There are so many millions of ways to expressing things, countless traditions of art you can draw from. Just a thought.