Finishing RP Models?

Hi all,

Im currently studying for a product design degree, have spent the last year using the range of RP machines my university has at its disposal. Theyve been most beneficial to my design process on projects however after a recent trip to a degree show at another university i was struck by there much more realistic prototypes. One of the students expalined they were just finished RP models.

I have FDM, LOM and Zcorp machines at my disposal. But i believe the finished models i saw were mainly SLA models. Im interested to know if anyone has any experience with finishing RP models and whether i could finish models made on the machines availible to me.

I pressume its a proccess of priming and painting but after a web search and a search on this forum i couldnt find any info. And then im not familiar with spraying and wouldn’t know what kind of thickness to expect it to add to a part.

Any information on this topic would be much appreciated. cheers in advance.

Josh.

It’s nothing more than what you’d expect. A lot of hand finishing with sand paper to get rid of the typical stair-stepping effect, then prime and paint.

Ideally for the higehst grade appearance models you’d want to CNC them from ABS or Renshape to get the best surface quality and finish.

You should be able to finish FDM models as long as they’re thick enough - but Zcorp stuff would probably just fall apart.

Elbow Grease. A little Bondo (really little).

That’s it, the whole story. I’ve seen people try everything from Aqua Resin to coat the model, to using some kind of dip… but in reality, it’s not any faster/easier. Just like anything else, work he surface up through sanding grits, and start priming. Any really deep stair steps, fill.

Z Corp is the most difficult option. I have had some success coating with CA, and sanding it out.