Faking sand-cast texture?

Hello all,

I’m working on a cosmetic model of a product where several of the components would be sand-cast aluminum. Some of the surfaces would be ground smooth (brushed finish), while others would retain the mold texture. Does anyone know a way of faking that sandcast texture?

Right now I’m thinking:

A) Sandcast the part in pewter- Risky, as I have no experience sand casting, and I worry that I won’t be able to get good surface detail from it.

B) SLA/SLS the part, blast it with some coarse medium, nickel plate it.

C) SLA/SLS the part, nickel plate it, apply a textured paint/coating of some kind.

D) Have a short-run foundry cast the part- Any ideas how much this would cost for a part weighing about a pound?

Depending on the complexity of your shape, a foundry might be able to sandcast directly from your RP model. There will be shrinkage of the alloy so you may want to oversize the model accordingly. There is often a part line somewhere that requires finishing and may interfere with your vision of an over sandcast look.

The machines exist for selective laser sintering of the actual sand for sandcasting, a one off part can be sandcast directly from a one off mold with no tooling. If you can find anyone offering such a service at a good cost, check the resulting part texture and see if it fits.

For pure simulation, try a textured spray paint on your model as a base for texture, the texture can be very granular, and when recoated with a silver or other color can be quite similar in texture to sandcast or tumbled sandcast parts.

For pure simulation, try a textured spray paint on your model as a base for texture, the texture can be very granular, and when recoated with a silver or other color can be quite similar in texture to sandcast or tumbled sandcast parts.

Faux Fabrix; leatherette