experience

I graduated in 02, which was approximately the worst time to graduate since the Great Depression, and instead of drowning in the sorrow of my fellow classmates, I decided to move to Japan and teach English for a year. It was a fantastic experience and truly improved my eye for design and my capabilities, but I wasn’t working as a designer. Now I have a job in a design related industry, still not designing though my title is “Industrial Designer.” The job is so meaningless and demoralizing that I’d rather scratch my eyes out than sit in front of my computer for another 5 minutes pretending to be busy. In light of this situation, I’ve decided to quit and focus full time on becoming employed as a designer. I’ve spent some time sending out my resume and portfolio to firms that were advertising entry or jr. level employment, but I’ve heard only “thank you, we’ll keep your resume on file.” Do employers shy away from people who have experience in non-design jobs their first 2 years out of school? I’ve revamped my portfolio and resume, and it sounds like it’s taking people an extremely long time to find ID positions. This seems like a tired question, but can anyone give me suggestions about how to get experience without having it?

Hi Desanity!
Never loose hope if designing is what you love to do. I went through a similar situation and to make it worse I needed sponsorship to be able to work; plus, I couldn’t leave the country because my visa was in the middle of a long process…