european schools (the best and worst ones)

so i did a little search and couldn’t find a specific thread on just european schools so i figured i’d start one. i’m almost 100% sure i’m going back to school for ID and have also decided that it will be in europe (i’ve been saving my ass off for the last 10 years and never did study abroad so may as well do it now at 29!)

anyway i’ve heard good things about :

Design Academy Eindhoven
Domus
Umea

if anyone has had any experience with any of these schools or are students at any of these schools i would love to hear your opinions.

-also feel free to mention other good schools and schools to stay away from.

thanks!

I think that’s a good idea, I went abroad for study and I can’t imagine having not done that. It’ll further your feeling of independence and rite of passage etc.

Eindhoven is another one of those colleges who have really famous tutors, same as RCA in London (which is ONLY postgrad by the way). No doubt it’s good but I wouldn’t be comfortable that the college is famous for who their tutors are rather than students work. Better to get someone who’s been there really. Also, try and find past students work online maybe (search Coroflot?)

UMEA is supposed to be good but I’ve heard slightly ‘engineery’ product design. Again, have a look at their website and past students work and see if it fits in with your ideal of good design.

Delft is apparently a good school. If you go to productdesignforums.com, the moderator there (Waikit) is a Delft alumni, you could ask him for a quick opinion - send him a PM.

Don’t know much about Domus, but it’s only postgrad as far as I know. Also, as it’s Italian I’d imagine there would be a certain emphasis on styling over problem solving and the importance of ethnographic research. Depends what you want from it I suppose.