Ethical Charges for freelance?

I’m new to the freelance world and have some questions about what is generally considered billable time. I want to make sure I’m doing things fairly for myself and the client. If anyone would be kind enough to share your thoughts, they’d be much appreciated!

A few questions:

1. Do you bill for time spent on project planning? Example laying out an indepth project schedule after being hired for the project. (Not initial plan for bid.)

2. Do you bill for travel time? Example, time spent on the road to mail a package or visit a client? Do you work the time into the hourly billing?
    Then write gas expenses off at tax time?

3. I am billing at an hourly rate. I’ve been providing ‘time estimate ranges’ for the project to give the client a ballpark figure up front. This is a new product with a new factory and many unknowns are involved. At this point I’ve underestimated the time required and am now billing for less time than I’ve actually spent to stay closer to my original quote. The good news is the client is ‘thrilled’ with the work. I have told them it’s taken more time than expected, and because the project is going very well I don’t feel too badly about billing more, but don’t want to go too far away from the original quote. Of course every situtation and client relationship is unique, if anyone has comments on how to best handle situations like this…you’re thoughts are welcome!

Thanks! :smiley:

Graphic Artists Guild Handbook: Pricing & Ethical Guidelines (Graphic Artists Guild Handbook of Pricing and Ethical Guidelines)

• Paperback: 332 pages
  • Publisher: Graphic Artists Guild; 11th edition (December 1, 2003)
  • ISBN: 0932102123

Gag’s site: http://www.gag.org/

The Savvy Designer’s Guide To Success: Ideas and Tactics for a Killer Career
by Jeff Fisher

• Paperback: 192 pages
  • Publisher: How Design Books (December 19, 2004)
  • ISBN: 1581804806

Jeff’s site: http://www.jfisherlogomotives.com/