eternal question - royalties

I know that the subject of royalties comes up as often as iPod shoes, but I’m trying to find some information on royalty rates for soft goods/bags specifically. At my last meeting with a client of mine (who typically pays me per hour), he mentioned royalties. The numbers he was mentioning were around between .5% and 1% of the wholesale price of the bags.

Is this typical for this industry? I’ve heard numbers from .25% to 5% for different industries, so I really have no idea where in this range something like a bag or whatever would fall.

I have no experience with royalties, but from friends who have complained about them a few things to worry about:

1_ the product drops and never makes it to production, you are not paid.

2_ the product drops but the company has the factory do a “variation” of your design that makes it to market and you are not paid

3_ the client puts your design into limited production and has the factory do a less expensive design “inspired” by your and you get paid very little

4_ the client is not forthright with how many sold and you have no way to prove it.

My friends might have just had bad experiences I don’t know.

run from the royalties deal if you’re not Newson, Starck …
you’ll get robbed and will not have the resources to fight back.

dd.

I’d like to know what typical and conventional rates are for this sort of design, regardless of the risk. I’m comfortable with judging the circumstances and relationship between my client and myself, but neither of us has dealt with the issue before, me being fresh out of school and him not really having used a designer before. The rate he suggested may be typical, or maybe its what he thought would be fair to me, or maybe its what he thought would be fair to him. As honest and forthright as he’s been with me, I’m not comfortable negotiating any points that I really don’t know anything about, so I’d like to know about it before writing it off.