Entry Level in NYC

I am a recent graduate working in pop design in the midwest. I have about a year and a half experience at the company I am at. Although I love the field, I am pretty unhappy here and have been looking to move on. Recently a recruiter contacted me about some entry level pop/retail design positions in NYC after seeing my work at my graduate show. Before I even meet with the recruiter, I want to know what I should be looking for. NYC cost of living is absolutely insane, what is the minimum I can survive on out there with student loans and car payments? I tried to do some research, but all I ever get are averages. If it gets that far, I want to make sure I am prepared with a number. It makes me nervous why big companies like that would want to recruit an entry level designers from the midwest. Is this a cheap labor thing? Opinions?

Thanks!

Sounds like you need to calculate what your expenses are first. Everything for a month, car loans, student loans, rent, rent, food, the works. Then you’ll know what your minimum is.

I can tell you what my minimum would be, but it would be very different from yours.

Once you know that, you can tell the recruiter what your minimum salary needs to be.

Huh? I don’t understand your question.

Do you think these big companies recruit “cheap” labor, bring them to NYC, only to have their employee go broke, quit and move on?

If so, that ain’t the case. Every NYC company knows about cost of living and will offer a wage based on experience. You can say yes or no. It is that simple.

What your expenses are, I have no clue. But realize there is a difference between Manhattan Island and Staten Island. Both of which are a part of NYC.

So a guy with no loans, living with 6 housemates on Staten Island is able to accept an offer lower than a guy laden with debt living in a Manhattan penthouse.

And a car loan? wtf do you want a car for in NYC?