Engineering to ID Undergrad

Hey all,

I’m currently in my final year of an undergraduate engineering bachelor’s degree in Canada. I intend on studying ID after I graduate, but its hard to know how to approach it. Engineering seems to be a good complementary degree to have, once its all over and done with, but has not provided me with any practical “design” skills to market myself to schools with.
I’m just wondering what your opinions are in regards to how I should get into the field:

-Apply to undergrad programs such as Carleton and ECUAD with my limited portfolio of sketches, solid modeling from high school, and landscape design?

-Take a year off after graduation to take night classes and whatnot to build a more impressive portfolio before doing the above?

-Apply to the more “technically” focused Masters programs at the University of Calgary (ID in the School of Environmental Design) and the University of Alberta? These programs seem to require less of a portfolio and UofC explicitly states that it accept undergrads from engineering. However, I’m looking to develop skills on the artistic side, which seem to be less of an emphasis in these programs. In any case, I might not have the fundamental skills necessary to jump into this at this level.

Also, I am looking for others who have started a second bachelor’s degree after graduating from their first. Is there any chance that they would take courses from my previous degree as credit? I’ve been looking at the ECUAD Foundation Year courses, and none of them look as though they could be replaced with my engineering courses, but 4 years of engineering courses, taken as a whole, might be able to replace something…

Anyways, sorry for the long post, and thanks in advance for any advice / insight that you can provide.

-JohnD