Engineering to ID, how do I do it?

I’m graduating with a bachelor’s in engineering and I’m just wondering what is the quickest, most effective way of getting into the ID field? I’d like to get some qualifications through courses and then get out into the world.

So, there have been at least a dozen similar topics to this in the last few months and it has me thinking of a few questions:

What do you think is driving all of these engineering students to design?

Why do they think they can transition to a different field with little or no additional training?

Why would a corporation or consulting group hire an engineer who wants to be a designer when they can hire a designer? As a hiring manager, I would be hard pressed to hire someone without a design education. I want this person to be well versed in art/architectural/and design history, design thinking/philosophies, 2d/3d/color theory, in addition to the more obvious skill sets of 2d rapid visualization and 3d CAD.