engineer career change

Hi!
I am engineer looking for a career change into ID. I have some experience with military vehicles prototypes but mostly as project manager.
Could someone recommend me any masters in USA and Australia?
How important is it to have a background in ID?
(I don´t have a portfolio, which I ve seen is a requisite in most schools…)

Thanks!!

welcome,

what about ID do you find interesting?

what do you want to be doing after your ID degree?

I think IIT (Illinois Institute of Technology) might have a graduate program in industrial design for non-industrial design majors.

NC State offers a Master’s in ID for folks without prior design experience. It involves some remedial work, but many prior engineers of all stripes were in the program when I was there and they provided terrific insights into aspects of product development not typically central to an ID curriculum. Compared to other fields you could be coming from, engineering is a great asset, IMO. I’ve known some dumb-asses in the MID program at NC State who only had previous experience studying Mandarin Chinese and Chinese history!

First of all, thanks guys for your answers.
I´ve thought of product developmet, packaging and design applied to industry: vehicles, tools mainly.
Are the schools you have mentioned well known among Industrial DEsigners?

I’m in the same train here. I work at NASA and I want to go into ID since I want to be able to apply creativity and art into what I do. I’ve been doing some research, and in terms of name reputation, California College of the Arts seems like it is the Harvard of ID. For us engineers without portfolios, NC State seems like the most friendly…and cheap too. Pratts at Brooklyn is another one that seems really good, and supposedly their master program is open to “everybody”, but they still require a portfolio :cry: … Good luck!