Emergency! Need a freelance hourly rate!?!

Okay, so I’ve been trying to get a freelance operation up and running on the side and it was slim pickin’s (okay…no action at all) … until now. I got a huge break, great news…yada yada yada…but I never established an hourly rate.

So any freelance guru’s out there, PLEASE chime in…

I do retail interior design, I have 4 years of experience with a pretty top notch design firm and have a fair amount of confidence in my skills.

The job duties would be both conceptual work and assisting with renderings.

I’ll be doing the work for a small design firm in Los Angeles.

www.coroflot.com/jknodell

go there to see examples of my work. I’m not looking for praise or any of that. Just some realistic reasonable freelance rates for someone in my position.

The firms I’ve worked for bill me out at between 80 and 100 dollars per hour, but I know that counts in overhead and other stuff…

ANY thoughts at all!?!??!

Thanks so much for the advice…

JK

I’ve been billing $35 and up, but I’m just getting started in ID, so I have no idea if that’s the norm.

I was getting billed at $100-150 (for my agencies) as a graphic/web designer and I’m getting $35 and up for that as well as a freelancer. They seem prettyclose, ID and 2D, per job.

I typically charge $70/hr… at 3 yrs experience… and I probably undercharge.
That should give you a good starting range!

yup, that includes overhead, but also includes your benefits, etc. as well.

I’d suggest maybe $100 an hour as a starting point for experienced ID/retail type work would be reasonable.

also of course depends on the project total scope, the client, etc…

R

Looks like I’m getting ripped! :frowning:

I am going through creative staffing though.