Electrical Engineering to Industrial Design, good combo?

Deciding what college I wanted to attend out of highschool was literally a logical career ( Engineering) vs. an artistic career (Design). Unsure of the outcome of the design path lead me to make my decision to attend the engineering school.

After a year in an engineering college, I almost wanted out. I had actually visited a nearby art college and was in the mindset of transferring. Somehow I convinced myself otherwise, took some summer classes to catch up and continued to attend the engineering school. Now I’m back to where I was, to stay, or to go? My main troubles in engineering have benn the higher level math (Calc 1,2,3,4…etc.) and with that follwed a few of my major classes. I’m majoring in Electrical engineering, but can’t ignore the appeal of Industrial Design.

My initial plan was to graduate with a Bachelor’s at the engineering school and while working at the job attained from there attend and go for the Bachelor’s in ID. But making it through an engineering school is a big “if.”

So, to those what are already in the design field, would an EE degree really help my chances for a sucessful career in ID? I would really appreciate any advice you have to offer.

Well, I’m not in the industry yet, but I am in the same position as you. I’m a Computer Engineering major, sick of engineering, and looking forward to getting a degree in ID.

While there may not be a direct advantage of having an engineering degree in an ID field, but I plan on applying my ID degree to consumer electronics. So while I may not ever actually do any engineering once I have an ID degree, it does help connect me to the more technical side as well as allow me to connect with the engineers that I will undoubtedly be working with.